Twitter began testing Circle with a small set of users earlier this month, and it now appears that it is beginning to roll out to additional people (via Android Police). The function is similar to Instagram’s Close Friends in that it allows users to send tweets to a small group of individuals rather than the whole Twitter community.
At this time, it’s unknown how many individuals have Circle access. Although it appears that more users (including myself) are now seeing the functionality appear when they begin typing a tweet, some users still claim to be unable to utilize it. It’s still in testing, according to Twitter spokesperson Joseph Nunez. “We’re continuing testing Twitter Circle with a group of individuals across the world on iOS, Android, and the Web,” Nunez added. “As we continue to gather input, the functionality has not yet been sent out extensively to everyone.”
Update your Twitter app or go to Twitter in a web browser to see if you have access to Twitter Circle. You’ll see a dropdown menu at the top of the screen that says Everyone when you start typing a tweet. You may pick Twitter Circle to confine your tweet to a certain audience, or you can edit your Circle to add or delete people. Users will not be notified if you add or remove them from Twitter.
You may add up to 150 people to your Circle, regardless of whether or not they follow you. “Only those in @[yourusernameTwitter ]’s Circle can view this tweet,” a message will appear at the bottom of Circle-only tweets (and vice versa). Tweeting to your Circle is similar to having a private account, only it simply restricts access to specific tweets rather than your whole profile.
Your Circle members will be unable to retweet anything you post to it, but they will be able to screenshot and save your tweets. It’s also crucial to remember that even if you’re tweeting to a smaller audience, Twitter’s community standards still apply.